- Friday, April 22, 2022

Cindy Wright (President, Seat 9-FNSB) - EXCUSED

Tom Brice (Vice-President, Seat 7-Southeast)

Marybeth Loewen (Secretary, Seat 2-Southcentral)

Thomas Farrugia (Treasurer, Seat 11-Municipality of Anchorage)

Dee Dee Ivanoff (Seat 1-Rural)

Forrest Kuiper (Seat 3-FNSB) - EXCUSED

Meredith Cameron (Seat 4-Southcentral)

Meadow Bailey (Seat 5-FNSB)

Darryl Lewis Sr. (Seat 6-At-Large)

George Cromer (Seat 8-At Large

Libby Eddy (Seat 10-Outside)

Scott Roselius, Hockey Chapter, ex-officio Riley von Borstel, ASUAF, ex-officio Brenda Riley, Fairbanks Chapter, representative Theresa Bakker, Executive Director, ex-officio

Incoming board members: Rhonda Widener, Seat 9 Lorna Shaw, Seat 10

Libby Eddy moves that the board adopts the agenda as presented and is seconded by Darryl Lewis Sr.

Thomas Farrugia moves that the board approve the minutes of the Winter 2022 regular meeting and is seconded by Meadow Bailey

Tom Brice, Vice President

Vice President Tom Brice gavels into Annu6

Chancellor White provided an update and responded to guestions:

Kinross Fort Knox \$1M gift to Troth Yeddha' \$2.3 M gift to Music Department to endow a chair

UAF has three endowed chair: ;Fisheries, Journalism, Music

Tier 1 research: focus in the arts creating PhDs

On 3-year plan to restructure tuition model

91% of students are on some form of financial aid

Thanks UAFAA for advocacy in Juneau; had a \$35M internal cut

Charlene	Storn
- Chanene	Sterri

Vice Chancellor for Rural, Community and Native Education (VCRNE) provides an update and responds to questions.

20% of UAF's student population is Indigenous

Important pillars already in operations:

Rural Student Services on campus,

RAHI (approx 50% of RAHI students enter UAF)

Added graduation advisor for RSS

Plans including partnership with Doyon on an ANSCA forum looking back and forwards on 50 years of ANCSA

https://www.tamamta.org/

UAFAA can help with public advocacy and public testimony to BoRegents

\cap	\Box	DI	ISI	N		20
l II		RI	1.5	ПΝ	т.	٠.٦

Executive Committee/ President Cindy Wright provides a report:

Written report read into the record by Vice-President Tom Brice

Executive Director Theresa Bakker provides a report:

Written report includes staffing vacancies, 3MT thank you letter, benefactor fund updates, including winning the TRIO award for support of SSS First Gen program,

Hockey - Scott Roselius

Feb 4th event in Phoenix very successful, lots of old acquaintances reestablished Feb 24/25 2023 is next AZ/UAF hockey game Event at Carlson Center February 25th to honor John Keller's philanthropy Hockey Chapter donated \$25,000 to scholarship endowment Golf tournament planned for the Saturday after Labor Day Theresa thanked Scott for his continuing communication, collaboration and patience

Fairbanks - Brenda Riley

Written report read into record by Vice-President Tom Brice
Mary Beth asked who the Fairbanks Chapter board members are and if UAFAA has
received minutes from the Fairbanks Chapter January 2022 meeting
Point of clarification that UAFAA has paid insurance for the Fairbanks Chapter
Hamburger Booth and offered to coordinate volunteers as always

Scholarship -- Mary Beth Loewen

Jay Hammond and Audrey Loftus recipients have been submitted Final four scholarships still needing to be reviewed and awarded.

Legislative -- Tom Brice

Budget generally better than it has for past three years
Board of Regents teleconference for testimony 1-866-831-8713 May 23rd 4:00 pm

Awards -- Libby Eddy

Met in December, reviewed nominations.

Awardees of Distinguished Alumnus Award are a PhD and a Certificated Associated in health care field- Dr Allison Kellher and DeLys Cook
Jim Culley awarded Cashen award for service. Awardees will be at Rendezvous

Governance Meredith Cameron
Simply Voting results included in packet.
Tom Brice moves to accept the 2022 election results, seconded by Libby Eddy
Finance Thomas Farrugia
Mary Beth Loewen moves to approve the FY23 budget, seconded by Libby Eddy.
Simi Khurana
Presentation provided to board members
Visited 15 schools over the course of 1 academic year. Most of fall was prep, and in spring semester 1 school/week. Supported by URSA and Benefactor Fund. (Dr. Celaire is endowed chair of Music Dept)
The Board recognizes Libby Eddy and Cindy Wright for their contributions to UAFAA.
There being no further business the meeting adjourns at 3:52 p.m.

Saturday, April 23, 2022
Dee Dee Ivanoff (Seat 1-Rural) Marybeth Loewen (Seat 2-Southcentral) Forrest Kuiper (Seat 3-FNSB) - EXCUSED Meredith Cameron (Seat 4-Southcentral) Meadow Bailey (Seat 5-FNSB) - EXCUSED Darryl Lewis Sr. (Seat 6-At-Large) Tom Brice (Seat 7-Southeast) George Cromer (Seat 8-At Large) Rhonda Widener (Seat 9-FNSB) Lorna Shaw (Seat 10-Outside) Thomas Farrugia (Seat 11-Municipality of Anchorage)
Riley von Borstel, ASUAF, ex-officio Theresa Bakker, Executive Director, ex-officio
NEW BUSINESS
George Cromer III, Seat 8 Rhonda Widener, Seat 9 Lorna Shaw, Seat 10 Thomas Farrugia, Seat 11 — full board
A. President - Mary Beth Loewen B. Vice President - Tom Brice C. Secretary - Ronda Widener D. Treasurer - Thomas Farrugia

Board member moves to approve the following committee members, seconded by \dots

Tom Brice moves to approve signature authority for the following members and is seconded by Lorna Shaw.
Treasurer: Thomas Farrugia Signers: Meadow Bailey, Forrest Kuiper, Rhonda Widener
– Theresa Bakker
September 23-24, 2022 Fall Board Meeting in Fairbanks Jan. 28, 2023 Winter Board meeting in Juneau April 14-15, 2023 Spring Board Meeting in Fairbanks
Proposal to hold UA Impact advocacy trip to Juneau Jan 26-27 with winter board conference on Jan 28 in Juneau, proposed location Lena Point CFOS.
Tom Brice moves to approve the 2022-2023 meeting schedule. Seconded by Darryl Lewis.
UAFAA President
Finance Committee/Thomas Farrugia
Governance Committee/Meredith Cameron
Proposing to not change membership structure, revisit annually Governance will continue to discuss metrics of success Lifetime membership benefit discussion
Each Board member had the opportunity to express their personal thoughts.
There being no further business, Tom Brice moves that the meeting adjourns at 2:07 p.m. and is seconded by Thomas Farrugia.